Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content


​At Hayman Island State School we implement the Australian Curriculum in the learning areas of English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities (History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship, Economics and Business), The Arts (Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music, Visual Arts), Technologies, Health and Physical Education and LOTE (Languages other than English).

At Hayman Island State School we have implemented the use of learning material and supporting resources to enable all students to work at their particular year level or to meet their individual needs. 

Teachers plan cooperatively and moderate student work with other Education Queensland schools to ensure consistency in teacher judgment about every student’s achievement standard.

The Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum (ACARA) sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills in learning areas, and general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities that are important for all Australian students.

It identifies what all young people should learn as they progress through schooling, and is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students.

All students across Australia will have a consistent curriculum in English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities, Health and Physical Education, The Arts, Technologies and Languages. These will be the core learning areas every young Australian will study during their education from Prep to Year 10.

Cross-Curriculum Priorities

Incorporated within each of the learning areas and the seven general capabilities of the Australian Curriculum are the three cross-curriculum priorities.  Students will learn about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and culture, Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia, and Sustainability.